This is a place for fans and friends of The Truth Is Viral to congregate, share opinions, and support one another. I ask everyone to remain civil and respect the T&C's.
 
HomeCalendarFAQSearchRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Asteroid 2012DA14 Will Make It's Pass Tomorrow Morning.

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
OathKeepingJarhead
Admin
avatar

Posts : 490
Join date : 2012-09-05
Age : 35
Location : Southeastern Michigan

PostSubject: Asteroid 2012DA14 Will Make It's Pass Tomorrow Morning.   Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:27 pm

It will be interesting to see if the Earths gravitational pull will crack this thing up or not. That would cause danger to some of our sattelites I believe. NASA will be broadcasting it's flyby so I will have to look in and see what happens.

NASA

Quote :
Feb. 13, 2013: NASA Television will provide commentary starting at 2 p.m. EST (11 a.m. PST) on Friday, Feb. 15, during the close, but safe, flyby of a small near-Earth asteroid named "2012 DA14." NASA places a high priority on tracking asteroids and protecting our home planet from them. This flyby will provide a unique opportunity for researchers to study a near-Earth object up close.

The half-hour broadcast from NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) in Pasadena, Calif., will incorporate real-time animation to show the location of the asteroid in relation to Earth, along with live or near real-time views of the asteroid from observatories in Australia, weather permitting.

At the time of its closest approach to Earth at approximately 2:25 p.m. EST (11:25 a.m. PST/ 19:25 UTC), the asteroid will be about 17,150 miles (27,600 kilometers) above Earth's surface. Measuring approximately 50 meters wide, 2012 DA14 is about half the size of a football field. Since regular sky surveys began in the 1990s, astronomers have never seen an object this big come so close to our planet. The asteroid will actually pass closer to Earth than many manmade satellites.

The commentary will be available via NASA TV and streamed live online at http://www.nasa.gov/ntv and http://www.ustream.tv/nasajpl2

In addition to the commentary, near real-time imagery of the asteroid's flyby before and after closest approach, made available to NASA by astronomers in Australia and Europe, weather permitting, will be streamed beginning at about noon EST (9 a.m. PST) and continuing through the afternoon at http://www.ustream.tv/nasajpl2

Also, a Ustream feed of the flyby from a telescope at NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Ala., will be streamed for three hours starting at 9 p.m. EST (8 p.m. CST). To view the feed and ask researchers questions about the flyby via Twitter, visit http://www.ustream.tv/channel/nasa-msfc

For more information, including graphics and animations showing the flyby of 2012 DA14, visit www.nasa.gov/asteroidflyby


_________________
"Uncommon Valor is a Common Virtue"- Admiral Chester A Nimitz
Back to top Go down
 
Asteroid 2012DA14 Will Make It's Pass Tomorrow Morning.
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Meeting tomorrow morning--prayers appreciated
» When should a person make the intention to fast
» How To Make A Scrying Mirror
» Two asteroid belts at Epsilon Eridani & constraints on planet b
» Prophecies came to pass!

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
The Truth Is Viral :: GENERAL DISCUSSION :: Astronomy and Space Exploration-
Jump to: